Gymglish Users and Visitors Lounge

Radio Rhubarb

Hello everyone!
I'm ashamed: I have been practicing Gymglish for about 2 years, and I'm still unable to understand the entire sonorous greeting message just before that Brent and Moira introduce themselves. Could anybody help me in writing that greeting, please?
Best regards,
Jicé

11 comments

• On this evening of January the 23rd I went to my workbook to listen to some Radio Rhubarb broadcastings.
    As you know, Jicé, the tape doesn't always run clear and loud, sometimes spitting creaky.
    Most often the starting trailer goes musically so:
    "Radio Club Rhubaaarb. THE club: Radio Rhubarb."
    That what I can catch.

NB trailer = 'bande-annonce'.
  • Thanks a lot for your investigation, Joe. Especially on a Sunday night! Even if my question would appear insignificant, your answer has relieved my mind!
    I'm sure that a new exercice will come shortly so as to give me the opportunity of listening that message. I promise you to listen more carefully.
    Thank you again.
    Jicé
  • You don't need a new exercice to come, Jicé.
    At the top of your lessons, there a menu.
    In the same way as you click on 'forum' to come here, click on 'Your Workbook'. Then on 'episodes'. There you can go back to all the lessons you got so far, notably the Radio Rhubarb broadscasts.
    Thereafter, tell me if I heard the trailer right or wrong.
  • Hello!
    I did it as you said. I succeed now in discerning better, but on the whole, the trailer remains a little bit confused to me. I think It's due to the background sound. Maybe I have to "sharpen" my sense of hearing!
    Be that as it may, thank you for your help, Joe.
    Jicé
  • I think I can help you both out.

What the trailers says (in the voice of Brent, by the way) is a mathematical equation:
    It says: 'Radio plus Rhubarb equals: Radio Rhubarb'.

(Radio + Rhubarb = Radio Rhubarb)